Bed

This article reminded me: I’ve heard single people have been known to get double, queen and even king-size beds and sprawl over them, “sides” be damned.

I bought myself a double bed too.

But then I spent, what, eight years sleeping on my own most nights (sometimes more, sometimes less, but always most) and NEVER strayed from “my” side, the right.

I’d put on an old episode of “This American Life” before turning the light off – I must have listened to every one at least five times.

I wish I could have pulled it off, but some of us just aren’t cut out for “fierce, triumphant” loneliness. We have to be careful. We fall so easily into that other kind.

Leave a Reply

